Water Tower

Water Tower

A few years back, I drove past this old rusted-out water tower a few times and pre-visualized an image I wanted – I thought the setting sun would light up the rusty tones and that color would look great against the deep blue sky that I would get with Fuji Velvia film.

I even took a shot at it, but it was completely different from what I imagined. It was in the morning, I used Kodak T-Max 100 film and my lens was way too wide. But I still like the way it turned out, and it definitely had potential.

More than a year after that black-and-white shot, I came back, with my Canon 7D digital camera with me. The sunset was great, the sky clear, and I got the composition I wanted with my 85mm f/1.8 USM lens. The sky definitely would have a deeper hue on Velvia, but I love the way the tower turned out. I never felt happy enough with the shot before to post it online. So here it is – with no post-processing, other than slight rotation to straighten it out, and the usual amount of sharpening.

Let me know what you think in the comments below.

