Ferrari 575M Maranello

Ferrari 575M Maranello

Italian Car Festival is one of my favorite events in the Dallas area, but I’ve had the worst luck photographing it. In 2006, I only had my point-and-shoot Canon and the pictures were okay. In 2007, I was looking forward to shooting with my new DSLR, but it got stolen just weeks before the event, so I used my point-and-shoot again. Then, in 2008, when I was ready again, the event got canceled. Finally, in 2009, when I thought nothing can go wrong, we got quite a lot of rain, which reduced the number of entrants and made photography a bit difficult.

1958 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Spider

1958 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Spider

This year the weather was perfect – it was the first cool day after a scorching summer. The crowd came out in droves to see dozens of cars with Italian heritage. The top photo is one of many Ferraris in the field – the 575M Maranello, a magnificently beautiful machine, built to celebrate Ferrari’s 2001 Formula One Constructor Championship title.

Lamborghini Diablo

Lamborghini Diablo

Because it is nearly impossible to get people out of a photograph in an event like this, I focused mostly on details. Pictured are: the beautiful chrome grill of the stunner also known as 1958 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Spider, “scissor” doors of a Lamborghini Diablo reaching for the trees, and finally raised headlamps of a DeTomaso Pantera which look a little like Wall-E.

DeTomaso Pantera

DeTomaso Pantera

For the end, another gorgeous Alfa Romeo, this one a 1975 Montreal, pictured here with a trophy it won for Best in Class (Alfa Romeo). This thing looks mean, and is one of my favorites of the show. Leave a comment below with what your favorite would have been.

1975 Alfa Romeo Montreal

1975 Alfa Romeo Montreal

